Testimonials

Please read our latest visitor testimonials below.

Slice of heaven in Devon !

My family and I had a wonderful stay! You are a slice of heaven away from the busy hustle and bustle. We connected as family and friends and had many moments of bliss and joy. We loved the log fire, the kitchen, the huge sash windows, the history, the detail in a home away from home, the tennis court, the land, the views, the pool and last but not least the staff. You made our stay so memorable and I can not recommend it enough. If you have the chance to go, take it! Thank you Gitcombe House, we will be back soon !

October 2018

Family holiday to Gitcombe

Beautiful setting and comfortable well decorated accommodation. We stayed in Meavy barn with our 20 month old. Great extra touches for families such as changing mats and plastic tableware in addition to cots/high chairs etc...Indoor pool spotlessly clean and warm. Really handy to have an indoor soft play area for little ones on a rainy day. A lovely warm welcome from the hosts, we would definitely return in the future.

October 2018

Idylic

We are a family of 5, with children aged 12,10 and 5, and having booked our holiday very last minute, really didn't expect to stumble upon such a gem! As we drove into the Gitcombe Estate we were absolutely amazed by the beauty of the situation - green rolling hills and beautiful stone buildings. The outdoor swimming pool, set up high with views of the main house, was warm and clean. The indoor pool, also at a very comfortable temperature, was a great hit with the kids, and the sauna and jacuzzi were a great hit with the parents! Never have we seen such a view from a jacuzzi!! Stunning! The accommodation was very clean, well equipped and stylish. Although we did get out and about, we didn't really feel the need to, as it was just so relaxing at Gitcombe. We are looking forward to our return!More

September 2018

Idyllic family holiday and blissful memories!

Gitcombe House Country Cottages is an oasis of calm, set in a truly idyllic valley between Dartmouth, which is an amazing day out for crabbing & fish and chips, and Totnes, which is perfect for crusty hipsters (our daughter had a harp lesson there). There are castles and beaches within 30 minutes’ drive. I don’t think it could be situated any better. The facilities are superbly maintained, perfect for families, and all the grounds, tennis courts, swimming pools and hot tub were a massive hit with the three nippers. It really is a weather proof holiday! The owner Peter, his father Rodney, and the manager Emma were all super helpful and made the experience a pleasure. The best feedback is we have already booked for next year, which will be our third visit! Bravo!

August 2018

Brilliant

For us there is nowhere better. Just returned from our 6th consecutive stay and we’re already in for next year. To say we love it here is an understatement. Staying at Gitcombe is like living the dream. The place sits in the most fantastic spot with breathtaking far reaching views and the accommodation and facilities are first class all round. The upkeep and management of Gitcombe is a credit to the owner Peter and his Dad Rodney and all their team. We like living where we live but there’s always a tinge of sadness when we return from our holiday. Counting down to next July!

August 2018

A wonderful week again

We have just returned from a week at Gitcombe - I think it was our 5th visit there with the family. Obviously the amazing sunshine was a bonus but we always have a totally fabulous time whatever the weather. The facilities are brilliant, with two pools and a hot tub (with incredible views!!), it never feels crowded, and the accommodation is just lovely. There’s loads to do around and about if we can tear ourselves away from Gitcombe!

July 2018

Amazing house to have a multi-family reunion

We were a party of five families reuniting after university along with our growing brood of young children and babies. From the moment we arrived our impressions were fantastic and nothing disappointed. We stayed in Gitcombe House and it was a great mix of comfort, grandness and luxury - as well as cosy. We loved the garden and sunny spot out the back for evening sun. The facilities including the laundry were fab. The kids loved it. And the gorgeous bathtub was a hit with the kids and mums too! We made us of the fab tennis court along with a bit of basketball. Lots of useful scooter practice too for the toddlers. The playground is gorgeous. Running out of superlatives. Our fave was being able to make use of the stunning outdoor pool. Beyond Gitcombe, it’s a great location to explore lovely beaches, idyllic pubs and Devon towns. We’ll be back!More

June 2018

Review of Gitcombe House Country Cottages

Just returned from a fantastic five day holiday with our two children (one and three years). So much to do nearby and also within the grounds themselves. The children loved the playground and basket ball/ tennis court and we had the swimming pool and soft play area to ourselves every day! Visited Dartmouth castle and the steam railway, both brilliant. The views in the evening over the grounds of the estate are stunning. A fun and relaxing time for all. Would love to go back one day.

June 2018

Wonderful

We have today returned from our second stay at Gitcombe, & as before, we have had another wonderful holiday! We stayed in the Burrator Barn, as we did last year, & it is simply beautiful. Everything you could need is in the cottage, & it’s all been carefully thought out. Having two small children, we definitely made use of the washing machine!! The swimming pools are fantastic, & we took the children there every day - with a spectacular view from the jacuzzi outside. I would highly recommend the estate as somewhere to stay, & being situated within a short distance from Totnes & Dartmouth- there is lots to see & do for all tastes.

June 2018

Oh arrh - 'tis a bit special

South Devon is special. South Devon in good weather is fabulous. Add in great quality accommodation, professionalism and genuine hospitality as at Gitcombe and ask - 'Why go anywhere else?' We were a family group staying in the main house celebrating a milestone birthday. The venue gave us ample accommodation for eight adults and five grandchildren, plus another six adults one evening for a BBQ. The children ranging from just under two years up to 11 had ample entertainment in a safe environment that allowed parents and grandparents to relax. This was a professional, well thought out operation based on experience in a setting that was rural and very scenic with views over undulating countryside reaching inland to the tors of dartmoor. The 'welcoming' information was detailed with plenty of suggestions for activities and recommendations for good eateries. Crabbing at Dittisham was a firm favourite with the younger members. The roads and lanes around Gitcombe are narrow, but typical of rural Devon. A bit intimidating at first, but as long as you plan for passing places and are capable of the occasional reversing manoeuvre, this is a minor concern. The present owners, in since 2013, are investing in quality accommodation and providing excellent leisure facilities on site; tennis court, adventure playground, indoor and outdoor swimming, sauna, steam room, indoor soft play etc, etc. Even though there are several properties on the 15 acre site, you never feel crowded or over looked. Based on our experience, this is a gem

May 2018

'tis a bit special, me buck

South Devon is special. South Devon in good weather is fabulous. Add in great quality accommodation, professionalism and genuine hospitality as at Gitcombe and ask - 'Why go anywhere else?' We were a family group staying in the main house celebrating a milestone birthday. The venue gave us ample accommodation for eight adults and five grandchildren, plus another six adults one evening for a BBQ. The children ranging from just under two years up to 11 had ample entertainment in a safe environment that allowed parents and grandparents to relax. This was a professional, well thought out operation based on experience in a setting that was rural and very scenic with views over undulating countryside reaching inland to the tors of dartmoor. The 'welcoming' information was detailed with plenty of suggestions for activities and recommendations for good eateries. Crabbing at Dittisham was a firm favourite with the younger members. The roads and lanes around Gitcombe are narrow, but typical of rural Devon. A bit intimidating at first, but as long as you plan for passing places and are capable of the occasional reversing manoeuvre, this is a minor concern. The present owners, in since 2013, are investing in quality accommodation and providing excellent leisure facilities on site; tennis court, adventure playground, indoor and outdoor swimming, sauna, steam room, indoor soft play etc, etc. Even though there are several properties on the 15 acre site, you never feel crowded or over looked. Based on our experience, this is a gem.

May 2018

Family Holiday

We recently spent a week at Gitcombe House and had a wonderful time, the accommodation and facilities were excellent. We choose the house based on the facilities as we were taking my children, their partners and 4 young grandchildren so we needed something for everybody and we were not disappointed. The setting was idyllic and the information pack provided proved very useful. The house itself was spacious and full of character with lots of room for everyone. We will definitely be looking at a return visit in the future.

May 2018

Fabulous.

We just stayed here for a week with our 2.5 year old and ended up staying an extra couple of nights because we liked it so much. The grounds are lovely and the pool and sauna etc are really clean, our accommodation was lovely and our daughter enjoyed watching the cows on the hill while she ate her breakfast every morning. The staff were also all really nice and helpful and I tried the short 2 mile run recommended in the welcome folder which was just lovely. The local beaches were lovely and clean and we had a fab lunch in Dittisham which is a really pretty place. You should go!

May 2018

What a wedding weekend!

29 of us stayed in the cottages with the celebrations revolving around Gitcombe house which was a great centre for us all to get together. So well appointed and comfortable no one wanted to go home. The grand children must have spent half the weekend in the pool, while the 20/30 year generation spent it in the hot tub. Wonderful time even in the poor weather.

May 2018

Wow! When can we come back?

We had a fabulous time at Gitcombe and can't wait to come back again. I don't think we have ever stayed at such a beautiful and well appointed self catered accommodation. Also, it was brilliantly set up for staying with our 21 month old. The pool is wonderful and the outdoor facilities were brilliant at keeping our wee one entertained whilst we packed the car up for our excursions in the morning. Peter is a lovely hosts and visited us on our first and last days to check in with us and offer advice. If we had had any questions on our other days I know it would have been really easy to get in touch with them. We travelled down from Edinburgh and before we arrived I thought it would be great to visit Devon once. However, after a truly lovely family stay we are already trying to work out how soon we can return. Thank you so much Peter for having us to stay in your beautiful slice of the county and we'll be in touch as soon as we can to organise our next visit!

May 2018

A little piece of heaven!

We started taking our 3 children to Gitcombe when they were very young and my son said on our very first trip that it was "a little piece of heaven". 10 years on and we still feel the same way. First class accommodation and facilities, a fantastic location, fabulous views and always a friendly welcome! We are already planning our next trip.

April 2018

Amazing family friendly holiday

Wonderful stay over Spring half term-plenty to do when the weather was a bit wet-the indoor pool was great and the lovely hot tub outside heaven! The cottage was very well appointed, kitchen well stocked with equipment-everything set up to make life easy for parents-towels and linen provided, shed full of crabbing gear/spades/tennis rackets etc. Stunning location-we'd happily return and highly recommend.

February 2018



Best 50 Cottages for Summer as voted by The Sunday Times

As voted in The Sunday Times Fabulous Fifty in the World



Website design by AztecMedia.eu, Yeovil, Somerset